Netherlands travel advice

The Dutch United Provinces declared their independence from Spain in 1579; during the 17th century, they became a leading seafaring and commercial power, with settlements and colonies around the world. After a 20-year French occupation, a Kingdom of the Netherlands was formed in 1815. In 1830 Belgium seceded and formed a separate kingdom. The Netherlands remained neutral in World War I, but suffered invasion and occupation by Germany in World War II. A modern, industrialized nation, the Netherlands is also a large exporter of agricultural products. The country was a founding member of NATO and the EEC (now the EU), and participated in the introduction of the euro in 1999. In October 2010, the former Netherlands Antilles was dissolved and the three smallest islands – Bonaire, Sint Eustatius, and Saba – became special municipalities in the Netherlands administrative structure. The larger islands of Sint Maarten and Curacao joined the Netherlands and Aruba as constituent countries forming the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

Location – Western Europe, bordering the North Sea, between Belgium and Germany

Noord-Holland hotels
Zuid-Holland hotels |
Limburg hotels |
Gelderland hotels |
Friesland hotels |
Zeeland hotels |
Noord-Brabant hotels |
Overijssel hotels |
Drenthe hotels |
Utrecht hotels |
Groningen hotels |
Texel hotels |
Ameland hotels |
Flevoland hotels |
Terschelling hotels |
Schiermonnikoog hotels |
Vlieland hotels |

Travel Alerts



 Australia Travel videos Guides
 New Zealand  Things to do  Travel health
 UK Amsterdam shopping Schengen Visa
 US Rotterdam  shopping
 Weather forecast
 Canada Airports

Netherlands cruises

Print Friendly, PDF & Email